Quick
Innovative
Sustainable

Warranted quality and 25 years of experience make WKA the most reliable partner for all repairs and servicing of your rotor blades.

In the event of damage, our team will be on site right away, anytime, anywhere in Germany and all over Europe, in India and soon also in North and South America.

Our perfectly trained teams work according to the highest HSE-standards. They use innovative tools and materials, and their database-driven, warranted processes guarantee efficient and sustainable blade service, from damage assessment to repairs.

To enable preventive servicing of your rotor blades we use our platform technology or rope-access technology. We offer full service for the maintenance of all available types of rotor blades.

But also for upgrades like Pitch optimization, Vortex Generators or aerodynamic optimization of your wind turbines we are the ideal partners. We keep developing our services in close co-operation with research, partners and our customers.

We offer reliable service with an eye to the future. To guarantee the calculated profits of your wind power stations, on- and offshore.

DNV-GL Logo
Robur Wind

Current offers

Winter platform technology

WKA winter platform technology

With WKA winter platforms, defective lightning protection systems or structural damages resulting from periods of bad weather can be repaired quickly and easily in typical WKA quality throughout the winter.

DNVGL-certified WKA winter platforms enable repairs to be carried out regardless of the outdoor temperature, thanks to a heated tent around the rotor blade.

This keeps wind turbine downtime to a minimum in the most productive seasons, autumn and winter.

Vortex optimization

WKA vortex generator optimization

In cooperation with 3M and Smart Blade, WKA Blade Service optimizes and improves the performance and service life of wind turbines through the installation of highly reliable 3M vortex generators.

The vortex generators are individually tailored to each rotor blade type and increase the aerodynamic efficiency of the blade by revitalizing the laminar flow on the rotor blade surface.

WKA carries out precise installation of the vortex generators in a fast, sustainable and certified manner, following a careful proprietary analysis.

Thermography

WKA thermography

WKA thermography is our contribution to a non-destructive inspection of the various rotor blade layers. A WKA thermography camera mounted on the platform documents the current state of the blade down to the lower layers by means of active infrared sensors. Any delaminations, dry glass, blowholes or cracks are visualized as warmer surfaces, and can then be repaired.

WKA thermography is the certified quick-check for all operators of wind farms whose systems are at the end of the warranty period. WKA thermography also supports you in the decision-making process when it comes to extending the service life of the systems beyond the warranted 20 years.

Serrations

WKA serration repair

Serrations are installed at the trailing end of the blade.

Serrations reduce air turbulence, ensuring the manufacturer’s guaranteed turbine noise level. During transportation or installation of the wind turbine, damage or breakage of individual serration elements may occur. This leads to higher noise emissions and may even prevent a technical approval of the wind turbine. During ongoing operation, the serration elements may also become fractured or detached.

WKA repairs and assumes retrofit tasks for serrations in every season – proficiently, quickly, cost-effectively and in certified quality.

View service Packages

WKA on- / offshore service packages at a glance

1. Quality Inspection and Testing

  • Inspections with rope technology and platforms
  • Drone technology
  • Thermography
  • Camera inspections on the ground
  • Lightning protection measurements
  • Rotor blade interior documentation
  • Minimal repairs
  • Recurring inspections
  • De-icing
  • End of warranty inspections & certificates
  • Turbine lifetime extension inspection & certificates

2. Repair services

  • Structural damages
  • Blade exchange
  • Serial damage
  • Leading edge protection
  • Serration repairs / retrofits
  • Erosion damages
  • Transport damages
  • Repairs on the ground / in the factory
  • Winter platform with up to 160m hub height
  • Dismantling / recycling

3. Optimization and installations on the blade

  • 3M Vortex generators
  • Pitch optimization upgrades with partner products
  • Noise reduction products
  • Anti-icing concepts
  • Erosion protection
  • Gel and signal color coating
  • Winglets

4. Smart data – preventative maintenance

  • Analysis for preventive maintenance
  • Analysis for lifecycle management
  • certificates
  • Comprehensive database
  • Over 15 years of damage recording
  • 3,000 WECs, over 100 blade types
  • Detailed damage reports

Future challenges for wind farm operators and their service partners

A guest commentary by Julian Scheerhorn, Operations Management, Energiekontor

Julian Scheerhorn

Wind power will become increasingly important in the future. At Energiekontor, we have the self-imposed target of achieving one hundred percent renewable energy.

Nevertheless, we face new challenges as a result of the changing conditions. With the new wind farms, the tendering procedures have led to a significant drop in prices. The resulting cost pressure equally affects everyone involved. The problem for existing parks is that after 20 years, the EEG tariff has been eliminated, thereby reducing the competitiveness of the systems. This means that all the companies involved need to be more efficient and cost-effective.

Therefore, it is important to optimize and develop the wind farms. This includes compensating for tower passages through pitch, or if necessary, undertaking adjustments to the entire wind farm to keep lagging effects under control. Now that many of the existing farms are at the end of their operative service lives and have to cope with the market values for electricity on the stock market, appropriate optimization measures are very helpful to ensure their profitability.

In optimizing our wind farm in Thüle with our service partner WKA, we rely on vortex generators, which ensure the facility is quieter, more durable and more profitable in the upper partial-load range.

The perfect service partner for wind farm operators is efficient, innovative, customer-friendly, economical, always ready for operation and ensures rapid fault clearance at the worksite.

WKA is not only broadly based, but is forward-looking, which is a clear advantage for us. In addition to their core business of blade inspection and blade repair, WKA also offers innovative optimizations for wind power stations.

Health & Safety

We place an emphasis on the permanent and competent development of our security concept, which goes far beyond legal requirements. A high degree of qualification is essential when it comes to occupational safety, which is why our employees regularly take part in training and continuing education measures. A rule of thumb for our preventative measures applies here: our new employees are always prepared for assignments in practice-oriented modules before stepping foot on the construction site. The company’s in-house training center offers optimal conditions for this. In classrooms and the training area, new staff members are thoroughly trained in both practice and theory. Fall protection, rescue exercises, load securing and electrical courses are just some of the key training modules that our specialists go through.

In the training center, rescues involved in a range of situations are simulated and trained in a practice-oriented manner. The focus of these exercises is on rescue measures from the work platform, evacuating the nacelle and rescuing colleagues who have had accidents from the climbing protection system.

Personal protective equipment is one of the most important safety aspects. In this module, the professional and safe handling of one’s own equipment is practiced. The equipment is always individually tailored to the requirements of the work at hand.

Load securing ensures that work materials are transported safely, so that they reach the workplace without any accidents. In addition to theoretical basics, a focus is placed on the securing of materials and the work platform in the company vehicle.

Before the team enters the worksite, the specific key characteristics of the worksite are discussed and documented in a safety brief. These are then integrated into the work activities, as well as continually reviewed and updated.

As a general principle, the commissioning and decommissioning of a wind turbine is only carried out by authorized employees. In the event of an emergency, the GPS coordinates and the location of the closest doctor are safely stored in the vehicle. When activities are carried out on the work platform, but also over the further course of a project, technicians face the permanent risk of falling. Therefore, it is imperative that activities are carried out securely at all times. Personal protective equipment is always individually tailored to these requirements.

Each team has a laptop and smartphones at its disposal that provide quick access to safety-relevant information. In addition to work instructions and safety data sheets, current weather data can be called up directly at the worksite and on the work platform. This enables the timely transfer of information between worksite employees and the H&S Department. In addition, the exchange of claims data and support between the team at the rotor blade and the technical support team at headquarters can take place, so that the best possible result is always achieved.

In regular telephone conferences with the teams, accidents, incidents, news and changes to work processes are communicated. This ensures that all the teams are always at the same level of information, safeguarding the comprehensive and proactive coordination of the entire company.

Contact

WKA Blade Service GmbH
Ton Strand 6
D-23769 Fehmarn

Fon: +49 (0) 4371 86 41 90
Fax: +49 (0) 4371 86 41 970
info@wkabladeservice.com
www.wkabladeservice.com

Schnell
Innovativ
Nachhaltig

Zertifizierte Qualität und 25 Jahre Erfahrung machen WKA zum zuverlässigsten Partner für Reparatur und Service Ihrer Rotor­blätter.

Im Schadensfall ist unser Team sofort vor Ort – jederzeit und überall in Deutschland und ganz Europa. In Indien und in Kürze auch in Nord- und Südamerika.

Unsere perfekt ausgebildeten Teams arbeiten unter höchsten HSE-Standards. Sie nutzen innovative Tools und Materialien, ihre datenbank­gesteuerten und zertifizierten Prozesse garantieren effizienten und nach­haltigen Blade Service – von der Schadens­erfassung bis zur Reparatur.

Für die präventive Wartung Ihrer Rotor­blätter setzen wir unsere Arbeits­bühnen­technologie oder Seil­zugangs­technik ein. Wir bieten den kompletten Service für die Instand­haltung aller verfügbaren Rotor­blatt­typen.

Auch für Upgrades wie Pitch Optimierung, Vortex Generatoren oder aero­dynamische Optimierung Ihrer Wind­turbine sind wir der ideale Partner. Unsere Dienste entwickeln wir ständig weiter – gemeinsam mit Forschung, Partnern und unseren Kunden.

Wir bieten zuverlässigen Service mit Perspektive. Als Garantie für kalkulierte Erträge Ihrer Windkraft­anlagen. On- und Offshore.

DNV-GL Logo

Aktuelle Neuigkeiten

WKA Fachbeitrag zum Thema Rotorblattpflege - Die systematische Prüfung und Überwachung von Rotorblättern liefert wertvolle Daten für die zustandsorientierte Wartung. Lesen Weiterlesen
Jährliche Unterweisung - Jährliche elektrotechnische Unterweisung an eigener Arbeitsbühne Vor genau einem Jahr schulte die German Wind Academy Weiterlesen
WKA wächst in Spanien - Wir heißen die neuen Kollegen herzlich Willkommen! Unser Expansionskurs setzt sich fort: Seit heute zählt Weiterlesen
Robur Wind

Aktuelle Angebote

Winterbühne

WKA Winterbühnentechnologie

Mit den WKA Winterbühnen lassen sich defekte Blitzschutz­systeme oder Struktur-Schäden in Schlechtwetter­perioden und den ganzen Winter über in der gewohnten WKA Qualität schnell und gut beheben.

Die DNVGL-zertifizierten WKA Winter­bühnen ermöglichen durch einen beheizten Raum am Blatt eine von der Außen­temperatur unabhängige Durch­führung der Reparatur.

Das verkürzt die Ausfall­zeit der Wind­turbine in den ertrag­reichsten Jahres­zeiten Herbst und Winter auf ein Minimum.

Vortex Optimierung

WKA Vortex Generator Optimierung

In Kooperation mit 3M und Smart Blade optimiert und verbessert WKA Blade Service durch die Installation von äußerst zuver­lässigen 3M Vortex Generatoren die Leistung und die Lebens­dauer von Wind­turbinen.

Die Vortex Generatoren werden für jeden Rotorblatt­typen individuell angepasst und erhöhen den aero­dynamischen Wirkungs­grad des Blattes durch eine Re­vitalisierung der laminaren Strömung auf der Rotorblatt­oberfläche.

WKA führt die präzise Installation der Vortex Generatoren nach einem sorgfältigen proprietären Analyse­prozess schnell, nachhaltig und zertifiziert durch.

Thermografie

WKA Thermografie

Die WKA Thermografie ist unser Beitrag zur zerstörungs­freien Inspektion der unter­schiedlichen Blatt-Schichten. Die an der Bühne montierte WKA Thermografie-Kamera dokumentiert per aktiver Infrarot-Bestrahlung den aktuellen Zustand des Blattes bis in die tiefer gelegenen Schichten. Delaminationen, trockenes Glas, Lunker und Poren können als wärmere Flächen bildlich dargestellt und anschließend repariert werden.

WKA Thermo­grafie ist der zertifizierte Schnell-Check für alle Betreiber von Windparks, deren Anlagen vor Ende der Gewähr­leistung stehen. WKA Thermo­grafie unterstützt Sie auch in der Entscheidungs­findung, die Laufzeit der Anlagen über die zugesicherten 20 Jahre hinaus auszudehnen.

Serrations

WKA Serrations Reparatur

Serrations, auch „Hinterkanten­kämme“ genannt, werden an der Trailing Edge des Blattes installiert.

Serrations reduzieren die Luft­verwirbelung und sichern damit den vom Her­steller garantierten Lärmpegel­bereich der Turbine. Während dem Transport oder der Installation der Wind­turbine kommt es regelmäßig zu einer Verletzung oder Abbruch einzelner Serration-Elemente. Das führt zu einer Verstärkung der Geräusch-Emission und kann die Abnahme der Wind­turbine verhindern. Auch im laufenden Betrieb kommt es wiederholt zu Brüchen oder Ablösungen der Serration-Elemente.

WKA repariert und übernimmt den Retrofit von Serrations in allen Jahres­zeiten. Erfahren, schnell, günstig und in zertifizierter Qualität.

zu den Leistungen

WKA On- / Offshore Leistungen im Überblick

1. Inspektion und Wartung

  • Inspektion durch Abseiltechnik und Bühnen
  • Drohnen­technologie
  • Thermografie
  • Blitzschutz­messung
  • Leading Edge Protection
  • Bodenkamera­inspektion
  • Blatt-Innen­dokumentation
  • Kleinstreparaturen
  • Wiederkehrende Püfungen
  • Enteisungen
  • Gutachten End of Warranty
  • Gutachten Laufzeit­verlängerung der Anlage

2. Reparatur Service

  • Strukturschäden am Blatt
  • Blattaustausch
  • Serienschäden
  • Serration Reparaturen / Retrofits
  • Erosionsschäden
  • Transportschäden
  • Reparatur am Boden / Halle
  • Winterbühne bis 160m Hub Hight
  • Rückbau / Recycling

3. Opti­mierungen und Installa­tionen am Blatt

  • 3M Vortex Generatoren
  • Pitch-Optimierungen mit Partnerprodukten
  • Lärmreduzierungs-Produkte
  • Anti Icing Konzepte
  • Erosionsschutz
  • Gel- und Signal Farben Coating
  • Winglets

4. Smart Data – Präventive Wartung

  • Analysen für präventive Wartung
  • Analysen für Lifecycle Management
  • Gutachten
  • Umfangreiche Datenbank
  • Über 15 Jahre Schadens­sammlung
  • 3.000 WECs, über 100 Blatttypen
  • Detaillierte Schadens­beschreibung

Zukünftige Heraus­forderungen für Windpark­betreiber und ihre Service Partner

Ein Gastbeitrag von Julian Scheerhorn, Betriebsführung Energiekontor

Julian Scheerhorn

Die Windkraft wird in Zukunft deutlich an Bedeutung gewinnen. Wir von Energie­kontor haben das selbst­gesteckte Ziel, einhundert Prozent erneuerbare Energien zu erreichen.

Trotzdem stehen wir durch die veränderten Rahmen­bedingungen vor neuen Heraus­forderungen. Bei den neuen Wind­parks hat man durch die Ausschreibungs­verfahren einen deutlichen Preis­verfall. Der so entstehende Kosten­druck wirkt sich auf alle Beteiligten gleichermaßen aus. Bei den Bestands­parks besteht das Problem darin, dass nach 20 Jahren die EEG Vergütung wegfällt und dadurch die Wettbewerbs­fähigkeit der Anlagen sinkt.

Das bedeutet, dass alle beteiligten Unter­nehmen effizienter und kosten­optimierter wirt­schaften müssen. Daher ist es wichtig, die Wind­parks zu optimieren und weiter zu entwickeln. Das bedeutet, dass man zum Beispiel die Turm­durchgänge durch den Pitch ausgleicht, und dass man gegebenen­falls die Regelung des gesamten Parks anpasst, so dass Nachlauf-Effekte gesteuert werden können.

Jetzt, wo viele der Bestands­parks vor dem Ende der Betriebs­zeit stehen und mit den Markt­werten des Stroms an der Börse klar­kommen müssen, sind entsprechende Optimierungs­maßnahmen sehr hilfreich, um die Wirtschaft­lichkeit zu garantieren.

Wir setzen bei der Optimierung, die wir zum Beispiel im Windpark Thüle mit unserem Service­partner WKA durchführen, auf Vortex Generatoren, die die Anlage leiser, langlebiger und im oberen Teillast­bereich ertragreicher machen.

Der perfekte Servicepartner für Windpark­betreiber ist effizient, innovativ, kunden­freundlich, kostengünstig, immer einsatzbereit und sorgt für eine schnelle Entstörung der Anlage. WKA ist sehr breit und zukunfts­orientiert aufgestellt, das ist für uns ein Vorteil. Neben dem Kern­geschäft der Blatt­inspektion und der Blatt­reparatur bietet WKA auch innovative Optimierungen von Windkraft­anlagen an.

Health & Safety

Wir setzen auf permanente und kompetente Weiter­entwicklung unseres Sicherheits­konzeptes, das über die gesetz­lichen Vorgaben hinaus geht. Insbesondere im Bereich des Arbeits­schutzes ist ein hohes Maß an Qualifikation erforderlich, daher nehmen unsere Mit­arbeiter regelmäßig an Aus- und Weiter­bildungen teil.

Bei uns gilt eine Faust­regel: Unsere neuen Mitarbeiter werden in praxist­orientierten Einheiten präventiv auf ihren Einsatz vorbereitet, bevor sie die Bau­stelle betreten. Das firmen­eigene Schulungs­zentrum bietet die besten Voraus­setzungen: In den Schulungs­räumen und im Übungs­gelände werden die Neuen gründlich in Praxis und Theorie geschult. Höhen­sicherungs- und Rettungs­übungen, Ladungs­sicherung und die Aus­bildung zur elektrisch unter­wiesenen Person sind einige der wesentlichen Ausbildungs­module.

Im Schulungszentrum werden die Rettungen aus unter­schiedlichen Situationen in der Praxis simuliert und trainiert. Der Schwer­punkt der Aus­bildung liegt auf der Rettung aus der Arbeits­bühne, der Evakuierung aus dem Maschinen­haus und der Rettung eines verunglückten Kollegen aus dem Steig­schutzsystem.

Die persönliche Schutz­ausrüstung gehört zu den wichtigsten Aspekten im Bereich der Sicherheit. Hier wird die fach­gerechte und sichere Handhabung der eigenen Ausrüstungs­gegenstände geübt, die auch später zum Einsatz kommen. Dabei ist die Aus­rüstung individuell auf die Erforder­nisse der Arbeit abgestimmt.

Ladungssicherung ist Vorraus­setzung für den sicheren Trans­port der Arbeits­materialien, um unfall­frei an die Arbeits­stätte zu gelangen. Neben den theoretischen Grund­lagen liegt der Schwer­punkt auf einer praktischen Sicherung der Arbeits­bühne und der Materialien im Firmen­fahrzeug.

Bevor das Team die Baustelle betritt, werden in einem Sicherheits­briefing alle wesentlichen, spezifischen Besonder­heiten der Bau­stellen besprochen und dokumentiert. Sie werden dann in die Arbeits­maßnahmen integriert, ständig überprüft und erneuert.

Grundsätzlich gilt: Die In- und Außer­betriebnahme einer Windkraft­anlage wird nur von autorisierten Mit­arbeitern durchgeführt. Für den Not­fall sind im Fahr­zeug die GPS Koordinaten und der Stand­ort des nächsten Arztes hinterlegt.

Beim Arbeiten in der Arbeits­bühne aber auch im weiteren Verlauf besteht für den Monteur permanent Absturz­gefahr. Deshalb ist es zwingend notwendig, dass er zu jedem Zeit­punkt gesichert ist. Die persönliche Schutz­ausrüstung ist individuell diesen Erforder­nissen angepasst.

Jedes Team verfügt über einen Laptop und Smart­phones, die einen schnellen Zugriff auf sicherheits­relevante Informationen gewähr­leistet. Neben Arbeits­anweisungen und Sicherheits­datenblättern können aktuelle Wetter­informationen direkt an der Baustelle und auf der Arbeits­bühne abgerufen werden.

Dieses ermöglicht den zeit­nahen Informations­transfer zwischen den Mit­arbeitern auf der Bau­stelle und der H&S-Abteilung. Außerdem kann so ein Austausch von Schadens­daten und Support zwischen den Team am Blatt und der technischen Betreuung in der Unternehmens­zentrale stattfinden, um ein best­mögliches Ergebnis zu erzielen.

In regelmäßigen Telefon­konferenzen mit den Teams werden Unfälle und Vorfälle, News und Änderungen an Arbeits­prozessen ver­mittelt, um alle Teams auf den gleichen Informations­stand zu bringen und eine ganz­heitliche, ein­greifende Koordination des gesamten Unter­nehmens zu gewähr­leisten.

Kontakt

WKA Blade Service GmbH
Heiweg 119
D-23566 Lübeck

Tel: +49 (0) 451 40 60 90 20
info@wkabladeservice.com